Passport: Denied

Many times, SOE Marketing will make a decision that doesn’t make a whole lot of sense at the time. Some of those decisions will end up being good ideas, in the long run. Some of them, for lack of a wittier way to put it, won’t.

The Passport Program falls soundly in the latter category.

This program seems designed for children, who haven’t yet advanced far enough in school to take mathematics, who also happen to have credit cards.

Allow me to quantify that statement.

A standard account for 30 days costs around $15(USD). $15/30 days equals $1/2 days, or $0.50/day.

The Passport Program, on the other appendage, gives you 3 days for $5. $5/3 days equals approximately $1.33/day. This is over 2 1/2 times the price of a standard account.

Anyone with basic math skills, or who owns a calculator, can figure this out. Apparently, the guys in Marketing haven’t.

I wonder if they are hiring, because the requirements apparently aren’t that stringent.

Well, that is all I have for now.

Until next time,
Necrotherian Facepalmer

4 Responses to “Passport: Denied”


  1. 1 Gareth April 28, 2010 at 6:52 pm

    Your maths is right, but it make no sense for SOE to release a new payment option that loses them money, so this offer must not appeal to people already paying for a second account.

    Therefore its a winner if it

    A) Does not lower payment from current customers.
    B) Increases payments from current customers.

    I think they might have been too conservative with the requirement.

    But at least its an offer you can take or leave, so its a welcome new choice.

    • 2 necrotherian April 28, 2010 at 11:09 pm

      I’m not expecting them to offer an option that loses them money. I do, however, expect them not to insult our intelligence. Note that this offer doesn’t apply to new accounts. They won’t be gaining new membership. Out of the ones that have played, (thereby having “veteran” accounts,) I sincerely doubt that many of them are that mathematically challenged.

      I’m not saying that there will not be anyone using this program. However, I am incapable of putting myself in the mindset of one to whom this offer would appeal. And I generally can see both sides of most disagreements. (I may not agree with a given side, but I can at least understand the thought process.)

      I have been told, at times, that I do not have very much common sense. However, I have enough sense to know that this is not a good deal. It isn’t even close.

      Were SOE to offer 7-9 days for $5, I wouldn’t have even said anything about it. Although that isn’t as good as a standard account, it is close. 7 days would be about 71-72 (0.714) cents a day. 9 days would be even better, at 55-56 (0.555) cents a day. Three days just isn’t enough for the price that they are charging, especially since those days are required to be consecutive.

  2. 3 Ethac May 6, 2010 at 3:58 am

    A one time fee of $5 gets you 3 days a month. For those people who play other MMOs more dedicated, this gives them a monthly break from that at no additional cost. In 10 months, that’s 30 days of playing, which is triple the investment.

    It also gives Sony a chance every month to entice these players back as they see new content, like the new starter zones coming out and other changes.

    Don’t sell SOE short, I think they thought this through.

    • 4 necrotherian May 7, 2010 at 12:53 am

      I respect your opinion. I don’t agree with it, but I respect it.

      I guess what bothers me most about this is that it seems like Sony is taking a page out of Bobby Kotick’s playbook.

      Using your example, in 10 months, that 30 days of playing will have costed that player $50. This just doesn’t seem like a good choice on the part of the consumer.

      Let’s think of it another way. I currently have 3 accounts. If they weren’t station access accounts, they would cost me $15 a month. Were I to quit playing regularly, it would cost me the same as 30 days for a single account to play the three accounts for three days. Still not a good choice for a consumer.

      Paraphrasing something I have said before, there will doubtless be people who take SOE up on the offer. I am just incapable of understanding the thought process of someone who would.

      I guess we will just have to agree to disagree on that one.


Leave a Reply

