The (viscious) Circle of Life

Rao over at Gestalt Mind brought up some good points in his post “An age-old issue“. A lot of that post resonated, in that I have been thinking through a lot of the same points, but from the other side of the table, as it were.

Recently, it has become more and more obvious that, unless you happen to be the best in your class within a guild, or within your community of friends, you are less likely to be able to improve yourself. Allow me to clarify that statement.

My main is, at this point, a level 80 Necromancer. I am not, by any stretch of the imagination, one of the “Holy Trinity” of classes that are currently, and have been for most of the last year, the Flavor of the Month Year.

Because of this, I have to work my posterier off to make the parse. And it wasn’t always like this. I used to consistently parse in the top Two to Three slots. Then again, I used to be one of two main necromancers within the guild. Now I am one of six. Unless we are doing a backflagging raid or “Head Hunting” raid, I generally am not invited.

I’ve tried to pick the brains of every successful Necromancer that I have come across. I have compared AA trees, taken notes on casting order, but it all comes down to two problems: Gear and Master Spells.

As far as Master Spells are concerned, I have only seen one lvl 70-80 Necro Master drop within a Raid/Group/Solo Encounter where I have been physically present. It dropped in Shard of Hate of all places, and it was a spell that I had previously purchased from the broker.

As far as gear is concerned, I am 8 shards shy of a full set of T2 armor. Granted, most of this resulted from having to mentor down an instance so that I could solo it or duo it with a friend having similar difficulties. The problem lies in the fact that, after I get that set of shoulders, there really isn’t any further that I can progress on my own as a Necro.

I’m not getting raid invites because I don’t have the best gear. I don’t have the best gear, because I’m not getting raid invites.

I am left with two choices. I enjoy some of the people I am guilded with, so the first choice, leaving my guild, isn’t one that I want to take, especially because I haven’t seen a single guild out there complaining that it doesn’t have enough Necromancers.

My other choice is better, and it leaves room to start playing my necro again, if SOE ever decides to give Summoners some love. I am leveling up my defiler, with the hope that, once I get him to 80, I’ll be able to get groups and that the guild doesn’t decide to do to Defilers what they did to Necromancers, which is bring in way too many.

Well, that is about all I have for now.

Until next time,
Necrotherian Lootsalot.

0 Responses to “The (viscious) Circle of Life”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

