My Mythical

Saturday night/early Sunday morning, things didn’t look good. The raid started, and, despite being there early, at first I wasn’t invited. I was instructed to wait outside VP, just in case.

After a couple of hours, I started to get a little hungry. So I sent a /tell to the raid leader, asking if she thought I might have time to grab a quick snack. She replied that the invite was incoming, so immediately, I forgot all about grabbing the aforementioned snack.

I received the raid invitation, zoned in, then used my Call of the Tinkerer to get to Nexona’s Lair. Once I arrived, they asked me to pop my menderbot, so I did, and sent a tell to the raid leader asking if I was going to remain for the fight or if they just needed the mending. She replied that I was remaining for the fight.

After the menderbot was popped, I assumed my station on the South Ledge. The first couple of pulls, people were losing concentration, so they kind of went bad. It looked like it was going to be another night of exp debt and repair bills, but nevertheless, I had a job to do and was resolved to do that job, regardless of anything else happening.

On the third pull after I arrived, something clicked, and we started operating like clockwork. Don’t get me wrong, there were a couple of times where someone was slow getting to a shiny, but we powered through that. And eventually, Nexona went down.

Finally, a little over a year from when epics were introduced, I received my Mythical Epic Weapon.

After being congratulated by just about everyone whom I have ever known in the game, I leaned back in my chair, pulled out a Marlboro, lit it, then breathed a sigh of relief. Up to that point, I hadn’t realized how much adrenalin had been keeping me going. I came to the realization that I was tired.

The next day, thinking I was über, I went to KC to try to finish some Heroic quests. The mobs there apparently hadn’t received the notification of my über-ness, because they proceeded to pwn me in the face as usual.

That is when I came to the realization that, despite my ability to DPS like a madman, at the end of the day, I’m still wearing armor that is the thickness of 8-ply toilet paper.

Until next time,
Necrotherian Lootsalot

1 Response to “My Mythical”


  1. 1 castillion March 30, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    Congratulations! Man, I used to wonder how much difference could one piece of gear realyl make. Mythicals are huge, you will see 🙂

    Congrats again!


Leave a Reply

